2023 Season Results

The 2023 Grand Finals were held in The House of Assembly Chamber, Parliament House on Saturday 23 September 2023. This was a wonderful event that showcased and celebrated the talents of the top South Australian debating teams.

Year 6/7 Division Grand Final

Winner: Pembroke School 6/7

Coach: Mr Tim Wetherell
Sharika Ahad, Ning Chan, Claire Li, Stella Yang and Sophie Claussnitzer

Runner Up: Belair Primary School Brown Snakes 6/7

Coaches: Mr Ali Farmer and Mr Sam Helbig
Ida Adams, Archie Scholefield, Imogen Byrne, Gus Farmer and Tate Frost

Year 8 Division Grand Final

Winner: Concordia College Blue 8

Coach: Ms Rachel Hogan
Keziah Cheng, Neeka Prideaux, Rebecca Lanzilli, Sophie Lim and Oliver Hawkins

Runner Up: Aberfoyle Park High School Blue 8

Coach: Ms Vanessa Ingram
Tamara Genauer, Deejai Weston, Jasmine Cornish and Zeke Baker

Year 9 Division Grand Final

Winner: Aberfoyle Park High School Green 9

Coach: Ms Vanda Farrall
Ameena Ankliss, Priya Vemparala, Abinav Murugappa, Jessica Thornhill, Alex Wrede and Thanvanth Sathyan

Runner Up: Westminster School Gold 9

Coaches: Ms Andrea Sherwood and Mr Patrick Moritz
Jordan Lucas, Nithika Vivekanandan and Cynthia Zhang

Year 10 Division Grand Final

Winner: Pembroke School Green 10

Coach: Dr Emma Hunt
Amy Song, Jason Kang, Zachary Yeend and Tim Dong

Runner Up: Glenunga International High School Yellow 10

Coach: Miss Kaitlin Turland
Abhiraj Singh, Addison Phan, Madison Mitchell-Smith and Tehan Perera

Senior Division Grand Final

Winner: Aberfoyle Park High School Green S

Coach: Mr Joff Sander
Konon Kuboi, Cadence Butterfield, Reuben Visser, Georgia Warren, Julia Mikhailova and Lachlan McKeown

Runner Up: Pembroke School Green S

Coaches: Ms Claire Woods and Ms Gabi Walldorf-Davis
Spiridon Spiliopoulos, Seraphina Zhang, Luca Shin and Vikram Selva

Debater of the Year Winners

Year 5

Piera Maida
Emmaus Christian College

Year 6/7

Sean Ayom Deng
Portside Christian College

Year 8

CJ Parkinson
Norwood International High School

Year 9

Samantha Perryman
Endeavour College

Year 10

Rachael Dospisil
Glenunga International High School


Jamie Reichelt
Immanuel College