2012 Awards Ceremony at Government House

His Excellency and Mrs Scarce were hosts to the winning and runner up teams of the 2012 Schools’ Debating Competition at Government House on Thursday 15 November 2012.

Winners and Runners Up as well as the Debater of the Year recipients in each division were presented with gold and silver medallions in recognition of their achievements.

Upon welcoming guests to Government House His Excellency acknowledged the achievements of debaters for their efforts as well as their commitment to participating in an activity which develops excellent skills of communication, reasoning and research.

James Biddle, Open division Debater of the Year from St John’s Grammar School gave the reply speech to His Excellency.

Following the formal presentations students and their guests were invited to explore Government House, learning about its rich political and cultural heritage.

The Government House presentations mark the end of a busy and successful debating season which saw the participation of 167 teams from 44 Primary and Secondary Schools across Adelaide.

Debating SA is grateful to His Excellency, Mrs Scarce and the staff at Government House for making the presentations such a wonderful event for students, as well as His Excellency for his ongoing Patronage of Debating SA. Thanks also to Sarah Philp, Photographer, Sonja Lowen and Tony Houey for their organisation of the day.