2016 Grand Finals at Parliament House

[Back to Past Debating Events]

Event Date: 24 September 2016 | Venue: The House of Assembly Chamber, Parliament House

On Saturday 24th September 2016, the Grand Finals of the 2016 Schools' Competition were held in The House of Assembly Chamber of Parliament House. Each debate began with a welcome from the Chairman of the Board of Debating SA, Mr Tony Houey.

Year 8

The day began with the Year 8 division debate at 10:00am with two grand final teams both from St Peter's Girls' School on the topic "That Gary the Goat should be left where he is." in reference to a goat named Gary whose habitat is being threatened by urban development. It was no suprise that St Peter's Girls' (Blue!) emerged victorious.
Year 8 Winners

Year 9

The Year 9 debate followed at 11:00am with Pulteney Grammar School debating St Peter's Girls School on "That we should put Steve Irwin on our currency." St Peter's Girls' were a formidible force an were declared the Year 9 winners.

Year 9 Winners

Year 10

At 12:00pm the Year 10 debate between the affirmative Rostrevor College and Glenunga International High School began. The topic was "That Adelaide should welcome Uber."

The Glenunga team emerged victorious.
Year 10 Winners


The Senior division debate began at 2:00pm with Adelaide High School debating Pulteney Grammar School. The topic was "That Trump is a gamble worth taking."

Pulteney Grammar School were the winners.
Senior Winners



The final debate of the day was the Open division debate at 3:30pm was on the topic "That the Brexit vote was the right vote."

Both sides of Pembroke School and Aberfoyle Park High School both presented excellent cases but the Aberfoyle team case proved too strong.
Open Winners


Debating SA would like to thank Mr David Speirs MP, Member for Bright for his support in securing the The House of Assembly Chamber.

Also special thanks to our guest adjudicators The Hon. Andrew McLachlan MLC, David Speirs MP, Member for Bright, John Gardner MP, Member for Morialta and Sen. Nick Xenophon, Senator for South Australia

Our thanks to the adjudicators for their expertise and all others who made the Grand Final such a special event.

This year saw a record 215 teams from 52 Adelaide schools participating.


[Back to Past Debating Events]

Top of page

Contact us | Site Map | Site disclaimer and copyright
Accessed: Thursday 29 June 2017, 8:01am | © 1991-2017 Debating SA Incorporated. All rights reserved.